Animal Inventory Blog

Keeping track of animals in popular culture.

Inventory of the Day

Posted by lisagbrown on April 21, 2008

This blog entry continues some of the themes explored in the blog entry Animalities.

Today I have created a true inventory of animals. I noted every animal I encountered from morning till night. These included animals that are living or dead, visual representations of animals, and even the sounds of animals.

AT HOME

4:13 AM Am awoken to the sound of a bird outside my window, cooing the same song over and over again. The repetition prevents me from falling back to sleep.

4:45 AM I finally give in to wakefulness and join my cat on the couch. I watch TV while he sleeps.

6:26 AM Am watching an episode of Angel in which the vampire battles a human-sized praying mantis monster.

6:41 AM Simon begins to tap on his food bowl in the next room to let me know that I’ve woken him up, and he wants his breakfast.

THE COMMUTE

8:13 AM On a neighbor’s porch, there’s a sculpture of a stone terrier with a welcome sign around its neck.

8:17 AM Just barely hidden in a garden behind a house, I can see the silhouette of a garden sculpture in the shape of a crane.

8:23 AM On the bus, we pass the White Hen Pantry, whose logo is a fat white hen.

8:26 AM Just a few streets down, we drive past the Swan cleaners, whose logo is an elegant white swan.

8:31 AM Just ahead of the bus, I see the bloody remains of roadkill. It is fresh, but so mangled that it is unidentifiable. Probably a squirrel, but it may have been a cat. It is easily the most gruesome roadkill I’ve seen in a long time. The animal’s flesh reminds me of the boiled chicken I ate for dinner last night and I’m immediately nauseated.

8:56 Got off the bus downtown in front of a 10-foot poster in a bank window of a woman holding a fluffy white terrier dog. A second poster, in the adjacent window, shows a man holding a child in a similar pose. I’m intrigued that the dog and the child seem to be given equal prominence.

AT WORK

10:32 AM A photo of two Wheaton Terriers hangs on a bulletin board in a coworkers cubicle.

11:25 AM As I pass through a sea of cubicles on my way to the water fountain, I catch glimpses of animals: a gorilla stuffed animal holding a banana lounges on a file cabinet, a wolf figurine howls silently, a painting of some sheep hangs on the wall.

11:57 AM A brown cow looks out from behind the Stonyfield Farm logo on my yogurt container.

1:03 PM I overhear a coworker discussing how medieval armor was lined with horsehair.

1:28 PM I eat a salad with chicken slices from the deli counter.

3:13 PM I realize that my black sweater is covered in Yoshi’s white fur.

3:40 PM From the 11th floor, I watch a pigeon wing its way between the buildings.

THE COMMUTE

5:01 PM At the bus stop, I see a woman feeding birdseed to a single pigeon, while dozens of pigeons and seagulls fly 10 stories above.

5:13 PM On the bus, we pass a sculpture of a man and his dog, and a block later I see a teenager walking a calico pit bull.

5:14 PM A deli has an ad for Boars Head Ham prominently displayed in the window.

5:22 PM On the Mass Pike, we pass a billboard with the Red Sox’s Green monster on it, a creature that is definitely not human, but not quite animal either. Less than 30 seconds later, we pass another billboard with Elmo on it, a similarly indefinable being.

5:27 PM The Stockyard Steakhouse uses a large red bull’s head to lure commuters in for an evening steak.

5:30 PM I notice an advertisement above my head for the Walk for Kidney Health, with an incongruous image of kids with faces painted like tigers.

5:32 PM I see a Massachusetts “I’m animal friendly” license plate, with the silhouette of a dog and a cat on it. The car owners have a dog beanie baby in the window.

5:34 PM A woman on the bus is reading A Walk in the Woods. It has a photo of a brown bear on the cover.

5:40 PM There’s an ad at one of the bus stops that reads ‘is your dog licensed? 87% of licensed dogs who get lost are returned home.’ There’s a photo of an adorable Golden Lab puppy on the ad.

5:41 PM We pass a bar whose logo is the image of two Falcons, back to back.

5:44 PM Walking home, I see a white ceramic garden sculpture of two frogs smiling.

5:45 PM A squirrel crosses the street in front of me, just as a very happy Jack Russell terrier is being walked around the corner.

5:46 PM As a father walks past me with his baby, I notice there are colorful stuffed fish hanging from a mobile on the baby’s stroller.

5:48 PM Yoshi greets me at the door, and both he and Simon are ready for dinner.

Leave a Reply

 
